Saturday, January 1, 2011

Firefighting Museum

The Staunton Fire and Rescue Department, founded in 1790, is the oldest continuously operated fire company in the state, with 220 years of tradition. All are welcome to come see "Jumbo", the oldest motorized fire engine in Virginia and the only extant 1911 Robinson chemical fire truck. It is housed in a museum (founded 1982) located inside the modern station at 500 N. Augusta Street. Billy Thompson’s White Post Restorations did the meticulous restoration work at a cost of over $140,000. The Robinson company, based in St. Louis, Missouri, manufactured firefighting equipment between 1908 and 1923, but the Staunton Fire Department’s “Jumbo” remained operational until 1971, nearly 50 years after Robinson closed up shop. Also on display are items relating to fire fighting, some going back to the Civil War. 540-332-3886. Free, 9:00a to 10:00p.

No comments:

Post a Comment